[PAST EVENT] Inside VA’s Voter Rights Revolution: How the General Assembly Increased Access to the Ballot  

October 29, 2020
7pm - 8:30pm
Zoom Meeting
Access & Features
  • Open to the public
  • Registration/RSVP

Norfolk Delegate Jerrauld (Jay) Jones, the Fall 2020 Baxter-Ward Fellow in Government, will present a virtual public lecture on Thursday, October 29, on “Inside Virginia’s Voter Rights Revolution: How the General Assembly Increased Access to the Ballot.” The program is scheduled for 7 pm, and is open to the W&M community and the public.

 In this year’s General Assembly session, the legislature approved a number of changes in election laws designed to make the right to vote more accessible. Among the changes are “no-excuse required” absentee and mail balloting, making Election Day a state holiday, and expanding the number of days for early in-person voting.

 Jay Jones, a 2010 Tribe graduate earned a B.A. in Government and History. After two years of work at Goldman Sachs in New York, he enrolled in the University of Virginia School of Law, where he earned his J.D. in 2015. He was elected to the House of Delegates from the 89th District in 2017 and re-elected without opposition in 2019. He serves on the powerful House Appropriations Committee. He has announced his candidacy for the office of Attorney General in 2021.

 Delegate Jones garnered national attention with a floor speech he delivered in the House in February, 2019, in which he described in powerful personal detail the experience of growing up and living as a Black man in Virginia.

 The Baxter-Ward Fellowship recognizes alumni of the Department of Government who have achieved significant recognition since their graduation. Fellows are invited to speak to classes and small groups of students, as well as delivering a public talk. Fellows have been selected for the honor in the early, middle and later stages of their careers to offer students a variety of examples of accomplishments.

 The Baxter-Ward Fellowship was endowed on the retirements of Professors Donald J. Baxter and Alan J. Ward, two highly valued members of the Government Department who continue to maintain involvement with the Department, and often attend the public lecture. The endowment allows the Department of Government to select a fellow each semester.